A vault is called personal if it was created using direct connection of the console to a managed machine. Personal vaults are specific for each managed machine. Personal vaults are visible to any user that can log on to the system. A user’s right to back up to a personal vault is defined by the user’s permission for the folder or device where the vault is located.
A personal vault can be organized on detachable or removable media. Acronis Secure Zone is considered as a personal vault available to all users that can log on the system.
Personal vaults can be used by local backup plans or local tasks. Centralized backup plans cannot use personal vaults except for Acronis Secure Zone.
Sharing a personal vault
Multiple machines can refer to the same physical location, say, to the same shared folder, but each of the machines has its own shortcut in the Vaults tree. Users that back up to a shared folder can see and manage each other’s archives according to their access permissions for that folder. To ease archive identification, the Personal vault view has the Owner column that displays the owner of each archive. To find out more about the owner concept see Owners and credentials.
The .meta folder is created during backup in every personal vault. This folder contains additional information about archives and backups stored in the vault, such as archive owners or the machine name. If you accidentally delete the .meta folder, it will be automatically recreated next time you access the vault. But some information like owner names and machine names may be lost.