Policy deployment state on a machine
To see this parameter, select any group, containing the machine, in the tree, then select the machine, and then select the Backup policies tab on the Information pane.
Once you apply a policy to a machine or a group of machines, the server deploys the policy to the machines. On each of the machines, the agent creates a backup plan. While the policy is transferred to the machine and the backup plan is being created, the policy’s deployment state on the machine is Deploying.
Once the backup plan is successfully created, the policy state on the machine becomes Deployed.
You may need to modify the policy for some reason. Once you confirm the changes, the management server updates the policy on all machines the policy was deployed to. While the changes are transferred to the machine and the agent updates the backup plan, the policy state on the machine is Updating. Once the policy is updated, its state becomes Deployed again. This state means that the policy is functioning and no changes are currently being made to it.
A policy that was modified while being deployed remains in the Deploying state. The management server just starts to deploy the modified policy from the beginning.
You may need to revoke the policy from the machine or from the group the machine is included in. Once you confirm the changes, the management server revokes the policy from the machine. While the changes are transferred to the machine and the agent deletes the backup plan from it, the policy state on the machine is Revoking.
You may change grouping conditions or the machine may change its properties so that the machine leaves one group and is included into another. This may result in revoking one policy and deploying another policy. In this case, the first policy’s state on the machine will be Revoking and the second policy’s state will be Deploying. The policies can appear in the GUI simultaneously or one after another.
Backup policy state diagram