Cloning method and advanced options
The Clone basic disk operation usually means that the information from the source disk is transferred to the target “As is”. So, if the destination disk is the same size and even if it is larger, it is possible to transfer all the information there exactly as it is stored at the source.
But with the wide range of available hardware it is normal that the target disk would differ in size from the source. If the destination is larger, then it would be advisable to resize the source disk volumes to avoid leaving unallocated space on the target disk by selecting the Proportionally resize volumes option. The option to Clone basic disk “as is” remains, but the default method of cloning will be carried out with proportional enlargement of all the source disk volumes so that no unallocated space remains on the target disk .
If the destination is smaller, then the As is option of cloning will be unavailable and proportional resizing of the source disk volumes will be mandatory. The program analyzes the target disk to establish whether its size will be sufficient to hold all the data from the source disk without any loss. If such transfer with proportional resizing of the source disk volumes is possible, but without any data loss , then the user will be allowed to proceed. If due to the size limitations safe transfer of all the source disk data to the target disk is impossible even with the proportional resizing of the volumes, then the Clone basic disk operation will be impossible and the user will not be able to continue.
If you are about to clone a disk comprising of a system volume, pay attention to the Advanced options.
By clicking Finish, you’ll add the pending operation of the disk cloning.
(To finish the added operation you will have to commit it. Exiting the program without committing the pending operations will effectively cancel them.)
Using advanced options
When cloning a disk comprising of a system volume, you need to retain an operating system bootability on the target disk volume. It means that the operating system must have the system volume information (e.g. volume letter) matched with the disk NT signature, which is kept in the MBR disk record. But two disks with the same NT signature cannot work properly under one operating system.
If there are two disks having the same NT signature and comprising of a system volume on a machine, at the startup the operating system runs from the first disk, discovers the same signature on the second one, automatically generates a new unique NT signature and assigns it to the second disk. As a result, all the volumes on the second disk will lose their letters, all paths will be invalid on the disk, and programs won’t find their files. The operating system on that disk will be unbootable.
You have the following two alternatives to retain system bootability on the target disk volume:
If you need to copy the NT signature:
If you need to leave an NT signature: